Meet Author Nicole L. Daffurn

It’s no secret that Destinata has been my book baby from the very first word I wrote! The idea for the young adult, science fiction story came to me one night while I was half asleep, and my mind wouldn’t let it go. I was intrigued by the thought of a new super-human race. A race that has never been heard of, or written about, because it was purely designed from the inner depths of my imagination. Once I started writing out the basic plot of the story, I found that I just couldn’t stop, and so The Valguard Trilogy was born.

In its short book life, Destinata has been published twice. It is now freshly re-released with a new cover, interior design and editing, and is awaiting readers to delve into its pages.

Sunshine, surf and family are the corner stones of Nicky’s world. Being born and raised on the Sunshine Coast in Queensland, Australia gave her the opportunity to chase her dream of photography and later novel writing. She fell in love with fantasy and dystopian and crafted stories with strong men and powerful women. As well as her many contributions to chbb anthologies, her debut novel through Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly - Courageous Souls - was released November 6 2014. Her Second Novel - The Darkness Within was published February 5th 2015.  When she is not busy being an author, you will find her walking along the water with her husband or chasing after her two children.

Imagine being eighteen. You've just become an adult, you can do what you like when you like. You should be attending parties or studying for school. Well that's what Charlie Dawson thought her life would be like when she turned eighteen anyway. Instead she ends up parentless, living with her best friends and working at a nearby café. That is until her curiosity about her new mysterious neighbor gets the better of her.

Following Zane into the woods that surround her home town of Tole one night, Charlie gets a little more than she bargains for when he lets her in on Tole’s best kept secrets. The human’s that reside in town aren’t alone.

Thrown into a world where humans are no longer the world’s most feared predator, Charlie is forced to become something that she has been destined to since before her own birth. Will she stand up to the test? Or will she ignore what has been fated to her?

She wanted nothing more than to tell him she loved him and to make him feel better before heading out to fight. Yet she couldn’t form the words which would surely only hurt him more. Whether it was because she didn’t want him hurting any more if she were to pass away or because of Ford, or because she didn’t really know how she felt yet, she wasn’t sure. The reason didn’t matter now, any excuse would do and she took hold of the thought and waited beside the front door for him to join her with the bag of weapons. She may have been a coward in love, but she wasn’t a coward in war. She would meet the Valguard head on.

They made their way silently through the deserted night street of Tole knowing they would meet with the Valguard in Town Square. The square was opposite the Town Hall. Trees offered shade, while residents occupied wooden benches during the day. Night was different; the eerie quiet spoke of things that went unseen in the daylight hours. The Valguard would soon be filling up the square intent on killing Charlie. She was the Destinata. She would be the one to stand up to them on behalf of the humans, and the town. It would be she that would bring them to their knees.

When I first thought up the idea for this series, I never thought that it would grow beyond the three stories I had planned. I was wrong! You can now find ‘Harsh Beginnings – Book 0.5, A short story from Eloise’s point of veiw’ and ‘The Pact – Book 1.5, A short story from Ford’s point of view’ for free here on Wattpad:

The Harsh Beginnings and The Pact Double feature will be available on amazon kindle and print on demand in the near future. 

At the moment I am working on several books. These include a young adult romance called After The Rain, a World War II romance named Love, Lucas, The second full installment of The Valguard Trilogy and several short stories.

Coming up on October 7th is the release of Cogs in Time III, which features my short story ‘Murder Upon The Last Airship’ and will be published by Chbb Publishing. Watch my website, or subscribe to my mailing list for the release of all these books and more.

Subscribe to my newsletter for updates on future books, and anything else to do with me and my writing here:

Follow me on Twitter: @NickyLouise28

‘Like’ me on facebook:

‘Follow The Valguard Trilogy on facebook:

Apryl Baker

1 comment: